Select a page

Questions & Answers

We provide answers to your questions about the project.

Questions & Answers
True or false?

What is the energy context in the world and in France?

At the global level: the reality of global warming and the depletion of resources

Nearly 80% of the world's energy consumption (transport, industry, heating)* comes from fossil fuels such as oil or coal. However, according to the International Energy Agency, oil reserves will be exhausted by 2050 and gas reserves by 2070.

Global warming is now a reality. It is linked to the increase in greenhouse gas emissions. These are produced in particular during the combustion of fossil fuels. If no proactive energy policy is put in place, the temperature of the Earth's surface could rise sharply. Under these conditions, it would rise from 1.8 to 4°C by 2100**.

* Source: IEA, Key world energy statistics, 2009
** Source: World Bank Report, November 2012

The French situation: stagnant consumption, declining nuclear production and strong growth in wind power.

Since the 1990s, electricity consumption, corrected for weather contingencies, has increased by more than half (1990: 300 TWh, 2019: 473 TWh).

Since 2010, electricity consumption has been stagnating, mainly due to the tertiarisation of the economy and the efforts made in energy efficiency.

In 2019, French electricity production amounted to 537.7 TWh. Down by around 2% compared with 2018, it is the consequence of the numerous outages of nuclear groups, leading to a drop in electricity production in this sector (-3.5%) and the reduction in hydroelectricity production (-12.1%). The decline in hydro and nuclear generation led to an increase in fossil-fuel thermal generation (+9.8%), despite a very sharp drop in coal-fired power plant output. At the same time, the year 2019 saw a very sharp increase in electricity production from solar (+7.8%) and wind (+21.2%) sources.

Breakdown of production by sector :

 

Why offshore wind turbines?

Clean energy

Wind energy is considered clean energy since its electrical production does not generate any greenhouse gases, effluent, waste or environmental pollution. At the end of 2019, the cumulative wind power capacity in service in France was 16.6 GW (16,600 MW). It covers the electricity needs of more than 7 million households each year. In total, more than 1,450 wind farms are installed throughout France. They alone produced the equivalent of 6.3% of France's electricity production (34.1 TWh).

What are the differences between onshore and offshore wind?

Offshore, the wind is both stronger and more constant than inland. Compared to onshore wind, offshore wind offers greater electrical generating capacity because more turbines can be installed and they are larger and therefore more powerful.

Offshore wind energy must take into account the specificities of the marine environment. There are many issues at stake, particularly in the design of wind turbines, foundations and in the operational phase. It is therefore a question of two modes of production based on a common resource: wind, but with significant differences in engineering.

A video of Jamy: the sorcerer's spirit who expressly quotes the project of Dunkerque and STB.
French wind potential

To date, only one offshore wind turbine has been installed in France. It is a floating wind turbine, a 2MW demonstrator located off the Croisic.

Compared to these European neighbours, France is today very overdue in offshore wind energy. 5 countries account for more than 98% of the European offshore wind market (21,767 MW). These are the United Kingdom, Germany, Belgium, Denmark and the Netherlands. The United Kingdom alone is home to almost half of Europe's installed offshore wind capacity (9,945 MW). At the end of 2019, the total installed wind capacity in Europe was 22 069 MW.

European Countries Offshore wind capacity installed in 2019 (MW) Total installed offshore wind capacity (MW)
United Kingdom

1 764

9 945
Germany 1 111 7 445
Denmark 374 1 703
Belgium 370 1 556
The Netherlands 1 118
TOTAL 21 767

However, France benefits from very favourable conditions for the development of offshore wind energy:

  • 3500 km of coastline and three well-oriented sea fronts: English Channel-North Sea, Atlantic, Mediterranean whose orientation is favourable to the installation of offshore wind farms.
  • A strong industrial know-how ready to be mobilized in the offshore wind sector (SGRE, Naventia, LM wind, GE),
  • A structuring of the sector through clusters (groups of companies and institutions in the same field of expertise) and major competitiveness clusters such as Bretagne Pôle Naval in Lorient or Néopolia in Saint-Nazaire.
  • A strong capacity for innovation in new technologies.

Why did the French state select the bay of Saint-Brieuc?

Saint-Brieuc, a location defined by the French government in 2011

In 2011, the French government has defined several zones for the installation of offshore wind turbines: 3 in Normandy, 1 in Pays de Loire and 1 in Brittany, that of the Bay of Saint Brieuc. In these zones, the State then organised a call for tenders. Winner in April 2012 of this call for tenders for the offshore wind farm project in the Bay of Saint-Brieuc, Ailes Marines carried out all the studies required to develop a quality project. These studies have been controlled and validated by the State's decentralised bodies and services. Ailes Marines has obtained the regulatory authorizationsrequired for the construction and operation of the wind farm in April 2017. The Saint-Brieuc wind farm is located outside the Natura 2000 zones and more than 16 km from the coast.

The Bay of Saint-Brieuc is a high place for fishing forscallops . To preserve this activity, the wind farm has been located outside the main scallop fishingarea , and moved 6 km to North tomove away from the main scallop fishingarea .

Ailes Marines SAS was designated winner of the call for tenders on 23 April 2012.

Since the early 2000s, the State has been committed to the energy transition (Grenelle de l'environnement in 2007, law on energy transition for green growth in 2015). It is in this context that the first offshore wind energy tenders were issued. They follow a planning and consultation process set up in all maritime metropolitan regions. The Saint-Brieuc area was one of the first 5 defined by the French government in 2011. Ailes Marines SAS was designated the winner on 23 April 2012.

The specifications of the call for tenders set as a main objective the construction of a wind farm with a capacity of 480 to 500 MW. The project had to be within a predefined perimeter of 180 km².

It is in this context that Ailes Marines has designed a project with a lesser impact in a technical and environmental optimisation process based on the recommendations of specialists and local players.

An answer to Brittany's energy dependency
Brittany is very dependent on energy.

In 2019, Brittany consumed 22.6 TWh of electricity and produced approximately 4 TWh.

To cover all its needs, Brittany imported about 19 TWh of electricity.

It relies heavily on interregional solidarity.

Indeed, its dependence is very strong, as Brittany imported more than 82% of the electricity it consumed.

Brittany's energy and climate roadmap (Breizh Cop) has several objectives:

  • Controlling energy demand,
  • Developing renewable energies,
  • Reduce greenhouse gas emissions,
  • Improve air quality,
  • Adapting the territory to climate change.

With 2730 km of coastline, the largest coastline in France, powerful currents, regular winds and the largest tides in Europe, Brittany has an exceptional potential for testing, experimenting and exploiting the various sources of marine energy.

The offshore wind farm project in the Bay of Saint-Brieuc will play a key role in this strategy. With 496 MW of installed capacity and 1,820 GWh of annual production, the project will cover around 8% of Brittany's energy consumption.

What is the consultation mechanism?

More than 1,000 meetings have since been held with stakeholders.

For Ailes Marines, the success of the project is largely based on the appropriation of the stakes involved in building a real territorial project. This is why, even before the publication of the State's call for tenders in 2009, meetings were held locally with stakeholders.

Since 11 January 2012, the date on which the tender documents were submitted to the CRE (Energy Regulation Commission), Ailes Marines has continued and stepped up its consultation actions with all the players in the area (elected officials, socio-economic players, sea users, environmental and citizen associations) and has participated in the following activitiess Numerous sporting and cultural events in Brioche and Costa Rica (la Quinocéenne, Trail Glazig, Trail Traversée de la baie, Rando tour, La Vaillante, Art Rock, Rock'n Toques, Photoreporter festival, exhibition of naval painters, underwater photography festival, Gabier du Goélo, IUT regatta, multi 50 trophies...), Brittany Sailing Clubs Cup, Trophée habitable 22, Solitaire du Figaro, Scallop Festival, Week-end AIGL, Engineering Sciences Olympiad, Salon Breizh transition, Salon Pro et Mer, Science Festival, Olympiad of trades, conferences, interventions in schools, colleges, high schools, Master etc..)

In total, Ailes Marines took part in nearly 1,300 meetings and events throughout the Briochin and Costa Rican/Breton territory.

It is on this close dialogue that the consortium has relied to develop and define the offshore wind project in the Bay of Saint-Brieuc.

Pro Area

News

Media Room

Sélectionner une page

Questions & réponses

Nous apportons des réponses à vos questions sur le projet.

Questions & réponses
Vrai ou faux ?

Quel est le contexte énergétique dans le Monde et en France ?

Au niveau mondial : la réalité du réchauffement climatique et l’épuisement des ressources

Près de 80% de la consommation énergétique mondiale (transports, industries, chauffage)* est issue des énergies fossiles telles que le pétrole ou le charbon. Pourtant, selon l’Agence Internationale de l’Energie, l’épuisement des réserves sera effectif en 2050 pour le pétrole et à l’horizon 2070 pour le gaz.

Le réchauffement climatique est aujourd’hui une réalité. Il est lié à l’augmentation des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Celles-ci sont notamment produites lors de la combustion des énergies fossiles. Si aucune politique énergétique volontariste n’est mise en place, la température de la surface de la Terre pourrait fortement augmenter. Elle passerait dans ces conditions de 1.8 à 4°C d’ici à 2100**.

* Source : AIE, Key world energy statistics, 2009
** Source : Rapport de la Banque Mondiale, novembre 2012

La situation française : une consommation qui stagne, une production nucléaire en repli et l’éolien qui progresse fortement.

Depuis les années 1990 la consommation d’électricité, corrigée de l’aléa météorologique, a augmenté de plus de moitié (1990 : 300 TWh, 2019 : 473 TWh).

On assiste depuis 2010 à une stagnation de la consommation électrique qui s’explique notamment par la tertiarisation de l’économie et les efforts engagés dans l’efficacité énergétique.

En 2019, la production électrique française s’élevait à 537,7 TWh. En baisse de 2% environ par rapport à 2018, elle est la conséquence des nombreuses indisponibilités des groupes nucléaires, entrainant un repli de la production électrique dans ce secteur (- 3,5 %) et de la diminution de la production électrique d’origine hydraulique (-12,1%). Le recul des productions hydraulique et nucléaire ont entrainé une hausse de la production thermique à combustible fossile (+9,8%), malgré un très fort recul de la production des centrales à charbon. Parallèlement, l’année 2019 a connu une très forte augmentation de la production d’électricité d’origine solaire (+7,8%) et éolienne (+21,2 %).

Répartition de la production par filière :

 

Pourquoi des éoliennes en mer ?

Une énergie propre

L’énergie éolienne est considérée comme une énergie propre puisque sa production électrique n’engendre aucun gaz à effet de serre, effluent, déchet ou pollution du milieu. Fin 2019, la puissance éolienne cumulée, en service, en France était de 16,6 GW (16 600 MW). Elle permet de couvrir les besoins électriques de plus de 7 millions de foyers chaque année. Au total, plus de 1450 parcs éoliens sont installés sur l’ensemble du territoire français. A eux seuls, ils ont produit l’équivalent de 6,3% de la production électrique française (34,1 TWh).

Quelles différences entre l'éolien terrestre et l'éolien en mer ?

Au large des côtes, le vent est à la fois plus puissant et plus constant qu’à l’intérieur des terres. Comparé à l’éolien terrestre, l’éolien en mer offre une capacité de production électrique plus importante car il est possible d’installer plus d’éoliennes et de plus grande taille, donc plus puissante.

L’éolien offshore doit tenir compte des spécificités du milieu marin. Les enjeux sont multiples, tout particulièrement dans la conception des éoliennes, des fondations et en phase d’exploitation. Il s’agit donc de deux modes de production fondés sur une ressource commune : le vent, mais dont l’ingénierie présente des différences significatives.

Une vidéo de Jamy : l’esprit sorcier qui cite expressément le projet de Dunkerque et STB.
Le potentiel éolien français

A ce jour, une seule éolienne en mer est installée en France. Il s’agit d’une éolienne flottante, un démonstrateur de 2MW situé au large du Croisic.

Comparativement à ces voisins européens, La France est aujourd’hui très en retard en matière d’éolien offshore. 5 pays concentrent plus de 98% du marché éolien européen en mer (21 767 MW).  Il s’agit du Royaume-Uni, de l’Allemagne, de la Belgique, du Danemark et des Pays-Bas. Le Royaume-Uni, seul, accueille près de la moitié de la capacité éolienne européenne installée en mer (9 945 MW). Fin 2019, la capacité totale éolienne installée en Europe, était de 22 069 MW.

Pays européens Capacité éolienne offshore installée en 2019 (MW) Capacité éolienne offshore totale installée (MW)
Royaume-Uni

1 764

9 945
Allemagne 1 111 7 445
Danemark 374 1 703
Belgique 370 1 556
Pays-Bas 1 118
TOTAL 21 767

Pourtant, la France bénéficie de conditions très favorables au développement de l’éolien en mer :

  • 3500 km de côtes et trois façades maritimes bien orientées : Manche-Mer du Nord, Atlantique, Méditerranée dont l’orientation est favorable à l’installation de parcs éoliens en mer.
  • Un savoir-faire industriel fort et prêt à être mobilisé dans le secteur de l’éolien en mer (SGRE, Naventia, LM wind, GE),
  • Une structuration de la filière au travers de clusters (groupes d’entreprises et d’institutions d’un même domaine de compétences) et de pôles de compétitivité majeurs tels que Bretagne Pôle Naval à Lorient ou Néopolia à Saint-Nazaire.
  • Une forte capacité d’innovation en matière de technologies nouvelles.

Pourquoi l'état français a sélectionné la baie de Saint-Brieuc ?

Saint-Brieuc, un emplacement défini par le gouvernement français en 2011

Le gouvernement français a défini en 2011 plusieurs zones pour installer des éoliennes en mer : 3 en Normandie, 1 en Pays de Loire et 1 en Bretagne, celle de la baie de Saint Brieuc. Sur ces zones, l’Etat a ensuite organisé un appel d’offres. Lauréate en avril 2012 de cet appel d’offres pour le projet de parc éolien en mer de la Baie de Saint-Brieuc, Ailes Marines a mené toutes les études requises pour élaborer un projet de qualité. Ces études ont été contrôlées et validées par les organismes et les services déconcentrés de l’Etat. Ailes Marines a obtenu les autorisations réglementaires nécessaires pour la construction et l’exploitation du parc éolien en avril 2017. Le parc éolien de Saint-Brieuc se situe en dehors des zones Natura 2000 et à plus de 16 km des côtes.

La baie de Saint-Brieuc est un haut-lieu de pêche de la coquille Saint-Jacques. Pour préserver cette activité, le parc éolien a été localisé en dehors du gisement principal de coquilles Saint-Jacques, et déplacé de 6 km au Nord pour s’éloigner de la principale zone de pêche des coquilles Saint-Jacques.

La société Ailes Marines SAS a été désignée lauréate de l'appel d'offres le 23 avril 2012

Dès le début des années 2000, l’Etat s’est engagé dans la voie de la transition énergétique (Grenelle de l’environnement en 2007, loi sur la transition énergétique pour la croissance verte en 2015). C’est dans ce contexte que sont nés les premiers appels d’offre éolien offshore. Ils font suite à un processus de planification et de concertation mis en place dans toutes les régions métropolitaines maritimes. La zone de Saint-Brieuc faisait ainsi partie des 5 premières définies par l’état français en 2011. La société Ailes Marines SAS en a été désignée lauréate le 23 avril 2012.

Le cahier des charges de l’appel d’offres fixait comme objectif principal la réalisation d’un parc éolien d’une puissance de 480 à 500 MW.  Le projet devait s’inscrire au sein d’un périmètre prédéfini de 180 km².

C’est dans ce cadre, qu’Ailes Marines a conçu un projet de moindre impact dans une démarche d’optimisation technique et environnementale en s’appuyant sur les recommandations des spécialistes et des acteurs locaux.

Une réponse à la dépendance énergétique bretonne
La Bretagne est très dépendante sur le plan énergétique.

En 2019, la Bretagne a consommé 22,6 TWh d’électricité et a produit environ 4 TWh.

Pour couvrir l’ensemble de ses besoins la Bretagne a importé environ 19 TWh d’électricité.

Elle a très fortement recours à la solidarité interrégionale.

En effet, sa dépendance est très forte, car la Bretagne a importé plus de 82% de l’électricité qu’elle a consommée.

La feuille de route énergétique et climatique de la Bretagne (Breizh Cop) poursuit plusieurs objectifs :

  • Maîtriser la demande énergétique,
  • Développer les énergies renouvelables,
  • Réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre,
  • Améliorer la qualité de l’air,
  • Adapter le territoire au changement climatique.

Avec 2730 km de côtes, le plus grand littoral de France, des courants puissants, des vents réguliers et les plus grandes marées d’Europe, la Bretagne dispose d’un potentiel d’exception pour tester, expérimenter et exploiter les différentes sources d’énergie marine.

Le projet de parc éolien en mer de la Baie de Saint-Brieuc est appelé à trouver toute sa place dans cette stratégie. Avec 496 MW de capacité installée et 1 820 GWh de production annuelle, le projet couvrira environ 8% de la consommation énergétique bretonne.

Qu'est-ce que le dispositif de concertation ?

Plus de 1 000 réunions ont depuis été organisées avec les acteurs

Pour Ailes Marines, la réussite du projet repose largement sur l’appropriation des enjeux permettant de construire un véritable projet de territoire. C’est pourquoi, avant même la publication de l’appel d’offres de l’État, dès 2009, des rencontres ont eu lieu localement avec les parties prenantes.

Depuis le 11 janvier 2012, date de dépôt du dossier d’appel d’offres à la CRE (Commission de Régulation de l’Energie), Ailes Marines a poursuivi et accentué ses actions de concertation avec tous les acteurs du territoire (élus, acteurs socio-économiques, usagers de la mer, associations environnementales et citoyennes) et a participé à des nombreux évènements sportifs et culturels briochins et costarmoricains (la Quinocéenne, Trail Glazig, Trail Traversée de la baie, Rando tour, La Vaillante, Art Rock, Rock’n Toques, festival Photoreporter, exposition peintres de la marine, festival de la photo sous-marine, Gabier du Goélo, régate des IUT, trophées multi 50, Coupe de Bretagne des clubs de voile, Trophée habitable 22, Solitaire du Figaro, Fête de la coquille Saint-Jacques, Week-end AIGL, Olympiade des sciences de l’ingénieur, Salon Breizh transition, Salon Pro et Mer, la fête de la science, Olympiade des métiers, colloques, interventions dans les écoles, collèges, lycées, Master etc.)

Au total, Ailes Marines a participé à près de 1 300 réunions et évènements sur l’ensemble du territoire briochin et costarmoricain et breton.

C’est sur ce dialogue de proximité que le consortium s’est appuyé pour développer et définir le projet éolien en mer de la Baie de Saint-Brieuc.