Select a page

Anxious to develop an environmentally friendly and integrated wind power project in the bay of Saint-Brieuc, Ailes Marines has set up a team of engineers and doctors specializing in the environment.
They work daily on the implementation of environmental studies and obtaining the regulatory authorizations required for the project.

A few examples among the thirty or so measures implemented

The sequence " avoid, reduce, compensate " (ARC) is intended to avoid environmental damage, to reduce damage that could not be sufficiently avoided and, if possible, to compensate for significant effects that could neither be avoided nor sufficiently reduced.
It applies to projects and plans and programs subject to environmental assessment as well as to projects subject to various procedures under the environmental code (environmental authorization, derogation from species protection, Natura 2000 impact assessment, etc.).

All impacts are assessed through a monitoring programme that focuses on all compartments (physical, chemical, biological, use). In addition, some accompanying measures are implemented to improve local knowledge.

7

Accompanying measures

- R&D programme for the assessment of the impact of underwater noise generated during work on the fisheries resource
- Turbidity modeling in the work phase
- Viewpoints and information panels
- Definition and implementation of a tourist offer in collaboration with the actors of the territory.
p

Reduction and avoidance measures

- Reducing disturbance of the Balearic Shearwater in periods of interbreeding presence
- Photoattraction reduction in construction
p

Action Items

- Monitoring of breeding colonies
- Monitoring of marine mammals and birds by boat and plane (high-definition cameras)
- Acoustic monitoring of marine mammals using hydrophone acoustic stations
Tracking birds by ground radar at Cape Fréhel
- Monitoring of the fishing resource (fish, bivalves, cuttlefish...)
- Monitoring of benthic biocenoses and sediment quality
- Turbidity modeling in the work phase
...
p

Compensation measures

- Regulation of bird egg predation on Tomé Island by American mink
- Regulation of egg predation on Cape Frehel
- Marine Mammal Awareness Area
p

The environmental studies carried out as part of the project

2015
2015

The impact study and initial status

In 2015, an initial assessment of the marine environment was carried out as part of the impact study. This initial state is based on observations made from 2012 to 2015. The environmental studies carried out for the initial state concerned the physical environment (current, tide, geology, water quality, etc.) and the living environment (marine flora and fauna, birds and bats, etc.), but also the natural and heritage environments, the landscape and the socio-economic aspects.
April 2017
April 2017

The AU-IOTA Single Authorization

On 18 April 2017, the wind farm off the coast of the Bay of Saint-Brieuc, carried by Ailes Marines, obtained the administrative authorisation known as "Autorisation Unique IOTA". This authorisation was issued by the Côtes-d'Armor Prefecture, under the provisions of Articles L.214-1 et seq. of the Environmental Code, and prescribes several follow-up, reduction, compensation or accompanying measures.
October 2017
October 2017

Actions followed locally

The actions carried out by Ailes Marines as part of the environmental measures are monitored and evaluated by a Management and Monitoring Committee. This committee was created specifically for the wind farm by prefectural order of 30/10/2017, and chaired by the prefect of the Côtes d'Armor. It is mainly composed of representatives of the State, local authorities, Natura 2000 sites, professional fishermen, nature reserves. The latter can rely as much as necessary on the expert opinions of the Scientific Council created for the park.
Since 2017
Since 2017

Diversified environmental measures

With a view to limiting and monitoring the impact of the construction and operation of the park on the environment, Ailes Marines is implementing numerous monitoring, reduction and compensation measures.

Research and Development

Participation of recognized experts

Ailes Marines has surrounded itself with numerous experts to carry out quality monitoring.
Two research programs on the incidence of noise were launched in 2018/2019 on scallops, prairie and cuttlefish. They are led by Laurent Chauvaud from the CNRS and Michel André from theUniversity of Barcelona. These programmes, at the cutting edge of research, will provide a better understanding of the impact of noise in the context of the Saint-Brieuc project.
A world first, they will be useful for the entire profession and for the Marine Renewable Energy sector.

Research support

Ailes Marines wanted to support research for the marine environment by getting involved with local actors.

For example, the RESIBAD project aimed to develop expertise and operational tools for the characterization and validation of underwater noise reduction devices.

This project has improved the understanding of the effects of bubble curtains on sound wave propagation.

The Environmental Management System

The project is governed by an Environmental Management System (EMS) adapted to the specificities of the offshore wind activity. The Environmental Management System of IBERDROLA Renewables Offshore is based on the international standard for environmental management: ISO 14001:2015. The proper functioning of this system ensures the prevention of the risk of environmental accidents during all phases of the project, as well as the continuous improvement of the environmental performance of the project.

The Marine Mammal Booklet

The Balearic Shearwaters' Booklet

Sélectionner une page

Soucieux de développer un projet éolien respectueux de l’environnement et intégré dans la baie de Saint-Brieuc, Ailes Marines a mis en place une équipe d’ingénieurs et de docteurs spécialistes en environnement.
Ils travaillent quotidiennement à la mise en oeuvre des études sur l’environnement et à l’obtention des autorisations réglementaires requises pour le projet.

Quelques exemples parmi la trentaine de mesures mises en œuvre

La séquence « éviter, réduire, compenser » (ERC) a pour objectif d’éviter les atteintes à l’environnement, de réduire celles qui n’ont pu être suffisamment évitées et, si possible, de compenser les effets notables qui n’ont pu être ni évités, ni suffisamment réduits.
Elle s’applique aux projets et aux plans et programmes soumis à évaluation environnementale ainsi qu’aux projets soumis à diverses procédures au titre du code de l’environnement (autorisation environnementale, dérogation à la protection des espèces, évaluation des incidences Natura 2000, etc.).

L’ensemble des incidences est évalué grâce à un programme de suivi qui se focalise sur l’ensemble des compartiments (physique, chimique, biologique, usage). De plus, certaines mesures d’accompagnement sont mises en œuvre afin d’améliorer la connaissance locale.

7

Mesures d'accompagnement

- Programme de R&D pour l’évaluation des incidences du bruit sous-marin généré lors des travaux sur la ressource halieutique
- Modélisation de la turbidité en phase travaux
- Belvédères et panneaux d’informations
- Définition et mise en place d’une offre touristique en lien avec les acteurs du territoire
p

Mesures de réduction et d'évitement

- Réduction du dérangement du puffin des baléares en période de présence internuptiale
- Réduction de la photoattraction en construction
p

Mesures de suivi

- Suivi des colonies nicheuses
- Suivi des mammifères marins et des oiseaux par bateau et par avion (caméras haute-définition)
- Suivi acoustique des mammifères marins grâce à des stations acoustiques constituées d’hydrophones
Suivi des oiseaux par radar terrestre au Cap Fréhel
- Suivi de la ressource halieutique (poissons, bivalves, seiche…)
- Suivi des biocénoses benthiques et de la qualité des sédiments
- Modélisation de la turbidité en phase de travaux
...
p

Mesures de compensation

- Régulation de la prédation des œufs d’oiseaux sur l’ile Tomé par le vison d’Amérique
- Régulation de la prédation des œufs sur le Cap Fréhel
- Zone de sensibilisation pour les mammifères marins
p

Les études environnementales réalisées dans le cadre du projet

2015

L’étude d’impact et l’état initial

En 2015, un état initial de l’environnement marin a été réalisé dans le cadre de l’étude d’impact. Cet état initial repose sur des observation réalisées de 2012 à 2015. Les études environnementales menées pour l’état initial concernaient les milieux physique (courant, marée, géologie, qualité de l’eau…) et vivant (faune et flore marine, oiseaux et chauves-souris, …), mais également les milieux naturels et patrimoniaux, le paysage et les aspects socio-économiques.

Avril 2017

L’Autorisation unique AU-IOTA

Le 18 Avril 2017, le parc éolien au large de la baie de Saint-Brieuc, porté par Ailes Marines, a obtenu l’autorisation administrative dite « Autorisation Unique IOTA ». Cette autorisation délivrée par la Préfecture des Côtes-d’Armor, au titre des dispositions des articles L.214-1 et suivants du Code de l’Environnement, prescrit plusieurs mesures de suivi, de réduction, de compensation ou d’accompagnement.

Octobre 2017

Des actions suivies localement

Les actions menées par Ailes Marines dans le cadre des mesures environnementales sont suivies et évaluées par un Comité de Gestion et de Suivi. Ce comité a été créé spécifiquement pour le parc éolien par arrêté préfectoral du 30/10/2017, et présidé par le préfet des Côtes d’Armor. Il est principalement composé des représentants de l’Etat, des collectivités locales, des sites Natura 2000, des pêcheurs professionnels, des réserves naturelles. Ce dernier peut s’appuyer autant que de besoin sur les avis d’experts du Conseil Scientifique créé pour le parc.

Depuis 2017

Des mesures environnementales diversifiées

Dans l’optique de limiter et suivre les incidences de la construction et du fonctionnement du parc sur l’environnement, Ailes Marines met en place de nombreuses mesures de suivi, de réduction et de compensation.

La Recherche et le Développement

Participation d’experts reconnus

Ailes Marines s’est entourée de nombreux experts afin de réaliser des suivis de qualité.
Deux programmes de recherche sur l’incidence du bruit ont été lancés en 2018/2019 sur la coquille Saint-Jacques, la praire et la seiche. Ils sont pilotés par Laurent Chauvaud du CNRS et Michel André de l’Université de Barcelone. Ces programmes, à la pointe de la recherche, vont permettre de mieux comprendre les incidences du bruit dans le cadre du projet de Saint-Brieuc.
Première mondiale, ils seront utiles pour l’ensemble de la profession et pour la filière des Énergies Marines Renouvelables.

Soutien à la recherche

Ailes Marines a souhaité soutenir la recherche pour l’environnement marin en s’impliquant avec des acteurs locaux.

À titre d’exemple, le projet RESIBAD avait pour objectif de développer une expertise et des outils opérationnels pour la caractérisation et la validation des dispositifs de réduction du bruit sous-marin.

Ce projet a ainsi permis d’améliorer la compréhension des effets des rideaux de bulles sur la propagation des ondes sonores.

Le Système de Management Environnemental

Le projet est régit par un Système de Management Environnemental (SME) adapté aux spécificités de l’activité éolienne offshore. Le Système de Management Environnemental d’IBERDROLA Renewables Offshore est basé sur le standard international pour le management environnemental : ISO 14001:2015. Le bon fonctionnement de ce système assure la prévention des risques d’accidents environnementaux durant toutes les phases du projet, ainsi que l’amélioration continue de la performance environnementale du projet.

Le Livret des mammifères marins

Le livret des Puffins des Baléares