Select a page

Focus on Breton partner companies

IDRA Bio & Littoral

The company provides oceanographic expertise specific to the marine environment: study of marine habitats (loose and rocky benthos, mapping), water quality, sediment quality, or fishery resources.

Manager

Julien Gerber,
Director of the oceanography research department

Workforce

6 employees

What types of services have you provided for Ailes Marines?

"Ailes Marines asked us to carry out monitoring of the fisheries resource targeted at cuttlefish (Sepia officinalis) as part of the work on the Saint-Brieuc offshore wind farm and its underwater electrical connection. This multi-year monitoring began in 2019, with the aim of assessing, over the life of the project, any variations in cuttlefish catches and their reproductive capacity in the study area. Between March and June of each year, we are responsible for collecting data:

  • in professional diving to identify sites favourable to cuttlefish spawning,
  • on board trawlers to monitor professional catches of this species.

The data produced are then analysed: spawning sites, number of eggs, weights caught, size/sex/weight of individuals, etc. This work is carried out in collaboration with the Departmental Committee for Maritime Fisheries and Marine Breeding (Comité Départemental Pêches Maritimes et Élevages Marins).
This work is carried out in collaboration with the Comité Départemental des Pêches Maritimes et des Élevages Marins 22.

Julien Gerber

Director of the Oceanography Research Office

How many jobs were involved in this service for how long?

"A total of 6 staff members have been working as needed on this assignment since 2019. This service requires teamwork, especially for professional diving activities. Reporting the activity of this project over a year, this occupies approximately one full time equivalent since 2019. Although the entire team resides on the Emerald Coast coastline not far from the project, staff temporarily resided between Erquy, Saint Quay-Portrieux and Trébeurden depending on the needs of the operations at sea. »
Julien Gerber

Director of the Oceanography Research Office

Why did you respond to the Ailes Marines call for tenders?

"This new multi-year study of cuttlefish launched by AILES MARINES is a complex scientific issue, quite innovative for our team, and original at the scale of the French coastline in the context of MRE. Within the company, we are all passionate about underwater environments and practice, among other things, diving and snorkeling: these are scientific subjects that arouse the curiosity of the whole team and we are convinced that this contribution is useful through the new knowledge it generates. By giving us the opportunity to express ourselves on this subject, it is also a good way to inform the general public of the stages of work that revolve around this project. »
Julien Gerber

Director of the Oceanography Research Office

Sélectionner une page

Zoom sur des entreprises bretonnes partenaires

IDRA Bio & Littoral

La société fournit des services d’expertise océanographique propre au milieu marin : étude des habitats marins (benthos meuble et rocheux, cartographie), de la qualité de l’eau, de la qualité des sédiments, ou des ressources halieutiques.

Dirigeant

Julien Gerber,
Directeur du bureau d’études en océanographie

Effectif

6 collaborateurs

Quels types de prestations avez-vous réalisés pour Ailes Marines ?

« Ailes Marines nous a sollicité pour la réalisation d’un suivi de la ressource halieutique ciblé sur la seiche (Sepia officinalis) dans le cadre des travaux du parc éolien en mer de Saint-Brieuc et de son raccordement électrique sous-marin. Ce suivi pluriannuel a débuté en 2019, avec pour objectif d’évaluer au cours de la vie du projet, les variations éventuelles des captures de la seiche et de sa faculté de reproduction dans la zone d’étude. Entre mars et juin de chaque année, nous sommes chargés de collecter les données :

  • en plongée professionnelle pour identifier les sites favorables à la ponte des seiches,
  • à bord de caseyeurs pour suivre les captures professionnelles ciblant cette espèce.

Les données produites sont ensuite analysées : sites de pontes, nombre d’œufs, poids pêchés, taille / sexe / poids des individus, etc.
Ce travail s’effectue en collaboration avec le Comité Départemental des Pêches Maritimes et des Élevages Marins 22. »

Julien Gerber

Directeur du bureau d’études en océanographie

Cette prestation a mobilisé combien d’emplois durant combien de temps ?

« Au total, 6 collaborateurs travaillent selon les besoins sur cette mission depuis 2019. Cette prestation nécessite un travail d’équipe, notamment pour les activités de plongée professionnelle. En rapportant l’activité de ce projet sur une année, cela occupe environ un équivalent temps-plein depuis 2019. Bien que l’ensemble de l’équipe réside sur le littoral de la Côte d’Émeraude non loin du projet, le personnel résidait temporairement entre Erquy, Saint- Quay-Portrieux et Trébeurden selon les besoins des opérations en mer. »
Julien Gerber

Directeur du bureau d’études en océanographie

Pourquoi avez-vous répondu à l’appel d’offres d’Ailes Marines ?

« Cette nouvelle étude pluriannuelle de la seiche lancée par AILES MARINES est une problématique scientifique complexe, tout à fait innovante pour notre équipe, et originale à l’échelle du littoral français dans le cadre des EMR. Au sein de l’entreprise, nous sommes tous passionnés des milieux sous-marins et pratiquons entre autres la plongée et l’apnée : ce sont donc des sujets scientifiques qui éveillent la curiosité de toute l’équipe et nous sommes convaincus que cette contribution est utile via les nouvelles connaissances que cela engendre. En nous laissant la possibilité de nous exprimer sur ce sujet, c’est aussi une bonne manière d’informer le grand public des étapes de travail qui gravitent autour de ce projet. »
Julien Gerber

Directeur du bureau d’études en océanographie