Select a page

Follow-up actions

Monitoring the dispersion of Alcidae chicks

Objectives and methodology

The objective of the measurement is to improve knowledge of the phenomenon of dispersal of adults and their chicks at sea and to verify whether this dispersal is in the direction of the wind farm off the Bay of Saint-Brieuc.

The scientific protocol setting out the technical modalities of the field actions was established jointly between Ailes Marines and the local actors (Bretagne vivante and the Syndicat Mixte Grand Site Cap d'Erquy Cap Fréhel).

Follow-ups will be carried out:

Ashore, on the cliffs of Cape Frehel:

Monitoring of the colony is carried out every year starting in April, in order to estimate the date of departure of the Alcidae chicks. During June, observations are made in the evening using night vision equipment. The information recorded for each chick observed is: time of landing, time of reunion, associated behaviours, time of swimming start, direction taken, time of end of the duo's follow-up. These observation sessions are carried out the day before the monitoring at sea, in order to increase the chances of detection at sea. 

U

At sea, the start of the transects is set at the tip of Cape Frehel.

Monitoring at sea is scheduled at the time of peak chick departures in order to have the highest probability of finding birds at sea. Monitoring is carried out from a boat about 10 metres long. A total of 8 trips are scheduled in June over a period of 10-15 days. At each observation, a GPS point is recorded. The number of individuals per age class is recorded, distinguishing between adults and young birds.

Location of actions

Follow-ups are carried out: 

  • Ashore, on the cliffs of Cape Frehel...                                 
ailes-marines-chicks-d-alcids
carte-cap-frehel
  • At sea, the start of the transects being fixed at the tip of Cape Frehel.
transects-suivi

Planning and Status

Seven years of follow-up are planned.

All follow-up actions

Reduction measures

Compensation measures

Accompanying measures

Sélectionner une page

Les mesures de suivi

Suivi de la dispersion des poussins d’Alcidés

Objectifs et méthodologie

L’objectif de la mesure est d’améliorer la connaissance sur le phénomène de dispersion des adultes et de leurs poussins en mer et de vérifier si cette dispersion est effectuée en direction du parc éolien au large de la baie de Saint-Brieuc.

Le protocole scientifique fixant les modalités techniques des actions de terrain a été établi conjointement entre Ailes Marines et les acteurs locaux (Bretagne vivante et le Syndicat Mixte Grand Site Cap d’Erquy Cap Fréhel).

Les suivis seront réalisés :

A terre, sur les falaises du Cap Fréhel :

Le suivi de la colonie est réalisé chaque année à compter du mois d’avril, afin d’estimer la date de départ des poussins d’Alcidés. Courant juin, des observations sont effectuées en soirée à l’aide d’appareils à vision nocturne. Les informations répertoriées pour chaque poussin observé sont : heure d’amerrissage, heure de retrouvailles, comportements associés, heure de départ à la nage, direction prise, heure de fin du suivi du duo. Ces sessions d’observations sont réalisées la veille des suivis en mer, afin de pouvoir augmenter les chances de détection en mer. 

U

En mer, le départ des transects est fixé à la pointe du Cap Fréhel

Les suivis en mer sont programmés au moment du pic des départs des poussins afin d’avoir les probabilités les plus élevées de retrouver des oiseaux en mer. Les suivis sont effectués à partir d’une embarcation d’une dizaine de mètres. Au total, 8 sorties sont programmées en juin sur une période de 10-15 jours. A chaque observation, un point GPS est enregistré. Le nombre d’individus par classe d’âge est répertorié en distinguant les adultes des jeunes.

Localisation des actions

Les suivis sont réalisés : 

  • A terre, sur les falaises du Cap Fréhel                                 
ailes-marines-poussins-d-alcides
carte-cap-frehel
  • En mer, le départ des transects étant fixé à la pointe du Cap Fréhel
transects-suivi

Planning et Statut

Sept années de suivi sont prévues.

Toutes les mesures de suivi

Les mesures de réduction

Les mesures de compensation

Les mesures d’accompagnement